Conference Programme

Our full Conference Programme is available here.

It includes conference motions.

The PDF version of our agenda is available here.

Friday January 26th 6pm – 10pm

6.00 pm: Registration Opens

6.30 pm: Welcome from Party Chair – Sarah Jane Hennelly

7.45 pm: Welcome from Party Leaders 

8.00 pm: Locked Out Generation – Panel Discussion (Facebook live)

Chair: Cllr Gary Gannon


Dave Curran, activist and organiser with the trade union SIPTU
Grace Dyas, theatre director and producer, writer and activist
Amy Smith, advocate for youth education
Mahalia Freedom, youth migrant integration project, the Youth Platform.
David O’Reilly, a secondary school teacher and a former economist
Clare O’Connor, Inner City Helping Homeless

9.00 pm: Hustings

Chair: Patricia O’Dwyer

  • National Executive Candidates
  • Vice Chair Candidates
  • Party Chair Candidates
  • Q&A with Party Chair candidates

10.00 pm: Close

Saturday 27th January 9am – 8pm

9.00 am: Registration Opens

9.30 am: Voting Starts

9.30 am: Building a political system fit to govern – motions in plenary (livestreamed)

Chair: Sinéad Halpin

Speakers: Dr Mary Murphy, NUI Maynooth and Catherine Murphy TD

Motions 9,10,11

10.45 am: Coffee

Pop-up Gaeltacht with Cllr Paul Mulville

11.00 am: Keynote – Building A New Ireland: Together, Better, Fairer (livestreamed/FB live)

Speaker: Philip O’Connor, journalist and commentator

Chair: Cllr Jennifer Whitmore

Panel: Niall O’Tuathail, Cllr Gary Gannon, Sarah Jane Hennelly, Tara Deacy

12.00 am: Parallel Sessions and Motions

  • Housing – Mel Reynolds, architect and policy analyst, Cllr Cian O’Callaghan and Catherine Murphy TD (Motions 12,13,14)
  • Healthcare – Dr David Gibney Deep End, Niall O Tuathail and Róisín Shortall TD (Motions 15,16)
  • Childcare and Early Childhood – Frances Byrne Early Childhood Ireland, Cllr Jennifer Whitmore and Ronan Moore (Motions 17, 17a)
  • Climate, Environment and Transport –  Prof John Sodeau UCC, Cllr Joe Harris, Ken Campbell (Motions 18,19,20)
  • Welfare and Equality – Cllr Paul Mulville, Ciaran McCarthy (Motions 21,22,23,24,25,26)

1.00 pm: Lunch

2.00 pm: Voting ends and counting starts

2.00 pm: Building an economy for the future – motions in plenary (livestreamed)

Chair: Cllr Cian O’Callaghan

Speakers: Dr David Jacobson, Emeritus Professor of Economics, Dublin City University and Róisín Shortall TD

Motions 20, 27, 28, 29

3.15 pm: Coffee

3.30pm: Parallel Political Discussions

  • Basic Income – Dún Laoghaire
  • EU Next Steps – Dublin Bay South
  • Lightning Talks – Dublin Central
  • Taoiseach for a Day – Cork South Central
  • Directly Elected Mayors
  • Volunteer Engagement

4.30 pm: Announcement of Party Chair and Vice-Chair elections & Policy Motions

5.30 pm: Break

6.00 pm: Leaders’ Address – Roisin Shortall TD and Catherine Murphy TD (livestreamed/FB live)

7.30 pm: Social